SSEC LogoSSEC Header
The flatirons of Boulder, Colorado

SSEC Governance

SSEC is chartered in the state of Indiana as a not-for-profit educational corporation.  SSEC is certified by the Internal Revenue Service and the State of Colorado as a tax exempt 501(c)(3) corporation.  The organization is governed by its By-Laws and by a Board of Directors. 

The SSEC Board of Directors, each member serving for a three-year term, is drawn proportionately from social scientists, social science educators, and other professionals, such as social studies teachers and/or middle or upper management social science educators. 

SSEC Board of Directors 2017 – 2018

Michael Berson, President
University of South Florida
Richard Diem, Past President
University of Texas at San Antonio, Emeritus
Christy Hammer
University of Southern Maine
Murry Nelson
Pennsylvania State University, Emeritus
Gregory Samuels, Vice President
University of Montevallo
James E. Davis, Secretary/Treasurer
Social Science Education Consortium (a non-voting member)
201 High Lonesome Point           Lafayette, CO 80026          Phone 303.604.6124                Email:
Copyright © 1963-2017, Social Science Education Consortium. All Rights Reserved. Website by DragonflyZ Design